Ruffles on Casual Friday

Ruffles at Brunch

Ruffles on Casual Friday

I promise, this is the last ruffled post of the week.  This time, the ruffles are in our blouse and take advantage of a peplum, ruffled look.  You know what “peplum” means, right?  Well, if you do not, no worries, I shall educate you.  Here is the definition:

pep·lum
noun
noun: peplum; plural noun: peplums
  1. a short flared, gathered, or pleated strip of fabric attached at the waist of a woman’s jacket, dress, or blouse to create a hanging frill or flounce.
    • (in ancient Greece) a woman’s loose outer tunic or shawl.

Since this is a sleeveless blouse, the sweater is necessary.  Most offices are pretty cold.  Is that because most office buildings have facilities directors who are men?  I’ve often wondered?

Back to the outfit, do you like the yellow shoes with the black and white?  Adding touches of color to a black and white outfit is usually a fantastic idea.  Why not try it?

Where to Wear?

Wear this on casual Fridays at work, or if your office environment is not very conservative, then wear it any day of the week to work, wear it to a casual brunch, to a girls night out, to dinner and a movie with your special man, (or lady), etc.  This is one of those outfits that is appropriate for any number of events or occasions.

Investment Pieces

If yellow is one of your wardrobe colors, then the shoes and belt would be an investment piece for you.  The bag is a perfect shape and if the green works in your wardrobe, that too, would be an investment piece.

The jewelry is pretty timeless and can be worn over and over again with any number of outfits.

Thoughts

It is Friday.  If you are in a traditional Monday – Friday type of job, don’t you love Fridays?

One of the things I usually do on a Friday at work is to clean up and organize. 

I file any papers that need filing, I organize any undone projects on my desk, I go through the past week’s emails and jot down in my master to-do-list any pending items, I create a to-do-list for Monday (I know, that’s a lot of lists), and I dust my desk and clean my keyboard and computer screen.

Why do I do all of this, you ask?  Well, it makes me feel better prepared the following Monday and more in control of my work, rather than my work being in control of me. 

If you feel frazzled on Monday mornings, why not do as I do and prepare for Mondays on Fridays?  It may even make your week-end more fun…no, sorry, I cannot guarantee that it will.

Happy tidying-up and organizing and have a fantastic two days off, my friends.   

 

Leave a Reply

